About the Alzheimer Society in Alberta & NWT

Early in the 1980’s, caregivers and professionals involved with those affected by Alzheimer’s disease began meeting to compare information and to be with others who understood what they were going through.

By 1987 this coming together had led to the establishment in Alberta of nine different Alzheimer groups. These groups provided the base for the establishment, in 1988, of the Alzheimer Association of Alberta.
Nationally, the Alzheimer Society of Canada (ASC) was established in 1978, the first national society of its kind in the world. ASC went on to become a charter member of Alzheimer Disease International.
In January 1994, the Board of Directors of the Alzheimer Association of Alberta formed 6 regions within Alberta: Lethbridge & Southern Alberta; Calgary; Red Deer and Central Alberta; Edmonton; North East Region, and Northwest Region.
In 1997 the name of the Alzheimer Association of Alberta was changed to the Alzheimer Society of Alberta. This was done to provide consistency across the country for marketing and branding of the organization nationwide.
After several years of discussions and deliberations, in May 2004 the Alzheimer Society of Alberta and Northwest Territories was formed with the merger of 7, previously separate societies: Medicine Hat, Lethbridge, Red Deer, Edmonton, Fort McMurray, Grande Prairie, and Yellowknife.

Last Updated: 11/08/2017