Our Research Committees

We are grateful to those who volunteer their time and expertise on the following Alzheimer Society Research Program Committees:

ASRP Peer Review Panel

The Alzheimer Society Research Program (ASRP) relies on a system of peer review to identify the most promising research projects and ensure we make the best use of our research funding. Applications are evaluated on scientific merit and relevance to Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias by one of two peer review panels (i.e., biomedical or quality of life).

ASRP 2017 Peer Review Panel members


Chair: Gordon Glazner, PhD, University of Manitoba 
Panel members:
  • Christian Naus, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • Andréa LeBlanc, PhD, McGill University
  • Joel Watts, PhD, University of Toronto 
  • Lili-Naz Hazrati, MD, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Darrell Mousseau, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Andrew Tasker, PhD, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Edith Hamel, PhD, McGill University
  • Lisa Marie Munter, PhD, McGill  University
  • Emmanuel Planel, PhD, Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval
  • Marco Prado, PhD, University of Western Ontario
  • Hsiao-Huei Chen, PhD, University of Ottawa
  • Tak Pan Wong, PhD, McGill University
  • John Breitner, MD, McGill University
  • Michael F. Jackson, PhD, University of Manitoba
  • Vania F. Prado, D.D.S., PhD, University of Western Ontario

Quality of Life

Chair: Kathy McGilton, RN, PhD, University of Toronto
Scientific Officer: Veronique Boscart, RN, PhD, Colleges in Seniors Care, Conestoga College
Panel members:
  • Sharon Kaasalainen, RN, PhD, McMaster University
  • Jennifer Knopp-Sihota, PhD, Athabasca University
  • Sharon Koehn, Gerontology, PhD, Simon Fraser University
  • Jennifer Baumbusch, RN, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • Sébastien Grenier, PhD, University of Montreal
  • Christina Jonas-Simpson, RN, PhD, York University
  • Anne Bourbonnais, RN, PhD, University of Montreal
  • Paul Villeneuve, PhD, Carleton University
  • Simona Brambati, PhD, Centre de recherche, IUGM

Training Awards

Chair: Simon Duchesne, MD, McGill University
Panel members:
  • Sébastien Hébert, PhD, Université Laval
  • Krista Lanctot, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Etienne Hebert-Chatelain, University of Moncton
  • Jennifer Walker, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Marjorie Silverman, PhD, University of Ottawa
  • Mario Masellis, MD, PhD, FRCPC, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
  • Megan O’Connell, PhD, University of Saskatchewan
  • Chantelle Sephton, PhD, Centre de Recherche de l’Institut Universitaire en Santé Mental de Québec
  • Donald Weaver, MD, PhD, University Health Network
  • Frank Rudzicz, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Weihong Song, MD, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • Sylvia Villeneuve, PhD, McGill University
  • Sven Joubert, PhD, University of Montreal

Research Policy Committee

The Research Policy Committee provides advisory oversight to the research efforts of the Alzheimer Society Research Program (ASRP) and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors as it relates to policy, strategy, priority setting, program effectiveness and funding.

  • Lynn Beattie MD, University of British Columbia (Chair)
  • Howard Feldman MD, University of British Columbia
  • Serge Gauthier MD, McGill University
  • Barry Greenberg PhD, University Health Network
  • Natalie Phillips PhD, Concordia University
  • Jane Rylett PhD, University of Western Ontario
  • Marjorie Sullivan, Lay Member
  • Melissa Andrew, MD, PhD, Dalhousie University
  • Neil Cashman, MD, University of British Columbia
  • Michele Buchignani, Lay Member

Community Representatives

Community Representatives are members of the general public who are not currently involved with research. They comment on the intent, purpose and on the clarity of the language used within the lay summaries of the research applications. Their involvement in peer review serves as a mechanism for public accountability by providing feedback on the ASRP peer review process.

  • Paul Lea, Biomedical
  • Sherri Russell, Quality of Life
  • Doug Smail and Nany Smail, Training Awards

Read more about our Community Representatives.

Last Updated: 11/08/2017