Meet volunteers from across the country

Learn what it's like to volunteer with us and the types of projects you could get involved in:

ASC volunteer Ana

“I believe human connections are an integral and invaluable part of what makes us human. Unfortunately, Alzheimer’s disease rubs us from the memories of all the connections we’ve ever made, leaving us in an unpleasant and anxious abyss. Knowing how many people are slipping away into this darkness leaves me feeling helpless and disheartened. And although I would love to make a great contribution, I’m not able to financially support the organization. However, I can and want to dedicate some of my free time to support the Society in any available capacity.

I’m impressed with the positive and supportive manner in which the organization interacts with those afflicted by Alzheimer’s, their guardians and loved ones. I also admire the wholehearted attempts the Society makes in responding to all the requests and concerns voiced by the families and friends of people living with Alzheimer’s."

—Ana
Volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Canada

 

"As a student and someone interested in the not-for-profit sector, volunteering at the Alzheimer Society allows me to apply the skills and knowledge I have. I'm also given the opportunity to learn about dementia and those impacted by it. And it's exciting to know that I'm with an organization that is filled with dedicated individuals working toward providing incredible outreach and services."

—Dagmawit
Volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Canada

ASC volunteer Dagmawit
 

Odette Bourgeois

"Like many, I volunteer because of my personal experience with the disease. I volunteer at the Society's Vancouver Resource Centre, preparing materials for different dementia education sessions and doing general office work, and at the Society’s Provincial Office, where I gather statistical data that will help the Society better serve people living with dementia."

—Odette
Volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of British Columbia

Read more about Odette >

 

"As a retiree, volunteering at the Alzheimer Society gives me a sense of purpose. It’s flexible and there’s a lot of variety in the work. When I walk through the front doors of the Society, I’m never exactly sure what the day will bring. On one day, I may be tasked with amalgamating workshop evaluations, and on another I may find myself creating brain challenging games for the Minds in Motion® program."

—Marilyn
Volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Manitoba

Read more about Marilyn >

Volunteer Marilyn McCorrister
 

Volunteer John Clarke

"My father lived the journey of Alzheimer’s, so after I retired I wanted to give back to the community in a meaningful way that benefitted others dealing with the disease. I help out the Alzheimer Society any way I can, and that includes making deliveries and pick-ups of educational material as well as supporting fund development initiatives."

—John
Volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Newfoundland and Labrador

 

"I have been volunteering with the Alzheimer Society for about 6 years, and I have no plans of stopping anytime soon. Mostly I help around the office, preparing mail outs, folding t-shirts or sorting surveys. But I have also been known to don the Hali Derby duck costume and participate in events around the city. That’s right, I dress like a duck and I like it!"

—Josie
Volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Nova Scotia

Read more about Josie >

Volunteer Josie Erlach
 

Volunteer Jaclyn Turpin

"I am a student at King’s University College studying Family Studies and Thanatology (bereavement and grief). Volunteering with the Alzheimer Society allowed me to put my academic knowledge to practice. As a support services volunteer, I helped review the current programming and researched its benefits to clients."

—Jaclyn
Volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Oxford (Ontario)

 


Read more

National Volunteer Week: Why Louise chooses to volunteer

Last Updated: 04/18/2019

Faites la connaissance des bénévoles à travers le pays

Apprenez ce que c’est de faire du bénévolat avec nous et renseignez-vous sur les types de projets dans lesquels vous pourriez vous impliquer :

ASC volunteer Ana

« J’estime que les liens humains sont une partie intégrale et inestimable de ce qui fait de nous des êtres humains. Malheureusement, la maladie d’Alzheimer nous enlève les souvenirs de tous les liens que nous avons pu tisser, et nous laisse face à un gouffre désagréable. Savoir le nombre de gens qui glissent dans ces ténèbres me laisse un sentiment d’impuissance et de découragement. Et, bien que j’aimerais faire de grandes contributions, je ne suis pas capable de soutenir financièrement l’organisme. Cependant, je peux et souhaite offrir de mon temps libre pour soutenir la Société de n’importe quelle manière.

La manière positive et encourageante dont l’organisme interagit avec les personnes affectées par la maladie d’Alzheimer, les aidants et les proches m’impressionne. J’admire également les efforts sans réserve déployés par la Société pour répondre à toutes les demandes et préoccupations que font les familles et les amis des patients atteints de la maladie d’Alzheimer. »

—Ana
Bénévole à la Société Alzheimer du Canada

 

« En tant qu’étudiant et personne intéressée au secteur sans but lucratif, être bénévole à la Société Alzheimer me permet de mettre en pratique mes connaissances et compétences. J’ai également eu l’occasion d’apprendre beaucoup de choses au sujet des maladies cognitives et des personnes touchées. Savoir que je suis avec un organisme animé de personnes dévouées qui œuvrent pour proposer des services incroyables et sensibiliser la communauté… c’est passionnant. »

—Dagmawit
Bénévole à la Société Alzheimer du Canada

ASC volunteer Dagmawit
 

Odette Bourgeois

« Comme tant d’autres, je suis bénévole à cause de mon expérience personnelle avec la maladie. Je suis bénévole au Centre de ressources de la Société à Vancouver, où je prépare des documents pour différentes séances d’éducation consacrées aux troubles cognitifs. J’y fais aussi du travail de bureau d’ordre général. Je suis également bénévole au bureau provincial de la Société : je rassemble des données statistiques qui aideront la Société à mieux servir les personnes atteintes de troubles cognitifs. »

—Odette
Bénévole à la Société Alzheimer de la Colombie-Britannique

En lire plus sur Odette >

 

« En tant que retraitée, mon role de bénévole auprès de la Société Alzheimer me donne le sentiment d'avoir un but. C’est très flexible et le travail est très varié. Lorsque je passe la porte de la Société, je ne sais jamais à quoi m’attendre. Un jour, je pourrais avoir la tâche de compiler des évaluations d’atelier, et un autre, je pourrais inventer des casse-têtes pour le programme Minds in MotionMD. »

—Marilyn
Bloénévole à la Société Alzheimer du Manitoba

En lire plus sur Marilyn >

Volunteer Marilyn McCorrister
 

Volunteer John Clarke

« Mon père a été atteint de la maladie d’Alzheimer, alors après avoir pris ma retraite, je voulais donner en retour à la communauté d’une manière significative qui serait bénéfique pour d’autres personnes atteintes de la maladie. J’aide de toutes les manières possibles – je fais des livraisons de documents éducatifs et j’aide avec des initiatives de développement des fonds. »

—John
Bénévole à la Société Alzheimer de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

 

« Je suis bénévole à la Société Alzheimer depuis 6 ans, et je n’ai aucune intention de m’arrêter! J’aide majoritairement au bureau; je prépare le courrier à envoyer, je plie des t-shirts ou je classe des enquêtes. Mais, on me connait aussi comme la personne qui porte le déguisement du canard « Hali Derby » et qui participe à des événements dans la ville! C’est bien ça! Je me déguise en canard, et j’aime ça! »

—Josie
Bénévole à la Société Alzheimer de la Nouvelle-Écosse

En lire plus sur Josie >

Volunteer Josie Erlach
 

Volunteer Jaclyn Turpin

« J’étudie les Études familiales et la thanatologie (deuil et peine) au King’s University College. Être bénévole à la Société Alzheimer m’a aidé à mettre mes connaissances universitaires en pratique. En tant que bénévole aux services de soutien, j’ai contribué à revoir les programmes actuels et j’ai étudié leurs avantages pour les clients. »

—Jaclyn
Bénévole à la Société Alzheimer de l'Oxford (Ontario)


Lisez-en davantage

Semaine nationale de l’action bénévole : pourquoi Louise choisit-elle d’être bénévole?

Last Updated: 04/18/2019