Award-winning volunteers

2019 Alzheimer Society of B.C.: Volunteer Recognition Awards

The Alzheimer Society of B.C. believes in recognizing volunteers who exemplify our core values of compassion, integrity, respect, leadership and teamwork. Each year, we invite staff and volunteers to nominate inspiring volunteers for annual award recognition.

The Alzheimer Society of B.C. is a volunteer-driven organization with over 750 volunteers who work alongside our employees to support British Columbians affected by dementia as well as their care partners. Our work is amplified by the generous contributions of our committed volunteers.

Every year, we celebrate a group of truly exemplary volunteers; individuals who are part of the growing movement of people who understand and act on what it means to build a dementia-friendly society, in which dementia is lived out in the open, and those living with the disease have the support and care to live their best lives. Our award categories and 2019 award recipients are listed below.

Ken Walker
Recipient of the 2019 Award of Hope, inspired by Mike Crowe 

Ken has a rich and engaging history with the Society, volunteering as a support group facilitator and later becoming an active member of the Society's Leadership Group of People Living with Dementia. Ken and his husband Mark are passionate about challenging the stigma associated with Alzheimer's disease and other dementias. Ken and Mark are currently spokespeople for the Society's 2020 "I live with dementia" campaign.

Mike Crowe worked closely with the Society in the late 90s, speaking out about his experience as a person living with dementia at a time when people simply weren’t talking about it. Recipients of this volunteer award are living with dementia and have demonstrated courage, leadership and support for others, as well as having acted as a role model while raising awareness.

Bob Proctor
Recipient of the 2019 Award of Merit, inspired by Twigg White

Bob has been volunteering with the Society since 2016 when he joined the team as an assistant with the First Link® program. Bob is a great source of support, encouragement, and wisdom for clients, offering empathetic responses informed by his own experiences as a caregiver. Bob is known for being able to make anyone in the room laugh and viewed as a constant form of positivity; an attribute vital in fostering the supportive and friendly environment appreciated by staff and clients. Bob is selfless in the way that he shares his heart and knowledge with others who are on the journey.

Mary Twigg White is a Past President of the Alzheimer Society of B.C. She was exceedingly generous to the Society with her time. Recipients of the Twigg White Award are volunteers chosen for their demonstrated commitment to the cause, empathy towards the needs of caregivers, and their sense of humour in the face of obstacles. 

Simon Grypma
Recipient of the 2019 Award for Community Service, inspired by Lola Turik

The 2020 IG Wealth Management Walk for Alzheimer's will be Simon's 9th year as Chair. Simon has created a strong bond and high level of respect within the community, contributing to his ability to deliver a well organized event that consistently raises more money than the year before.

Simon retired as the Nelson Fire Chief in 2014, where he was the longest serving member of the Nelson Fire department. During Simon's career as Chief and firefighter he was heavily involved with many life changing and saving initiatives that kept the community safe. When Simon retired, his compassion for helping did not end with his career but instead transferred to his role as a Society volunteer. Simon is dedicated to raising awareness and supporting the cause - ensuring quality support is always available for families affected by dementia.

Lola Turik taught school at all levels, raised a family and volunteered with numerous charitable and sports organizations including the Alzheimer Society of B.C. She was honoured in her home community of Trail as Senior Citizen of the Year, Kiwanis Sportsman of the Year and received the Trail Minor Hockey Outstanding Individual Achievement Award. Recipients of the Society’s Lola Turik Community Service award have demonstrated community leadership through their volunteer work at the grassroots level. 

Kate and Gordon Sladen
Recipient of the 2019 Award of Leadership, inspired by Clyde and Lanny Slade

During a 20 year tenure as a volunteer with the Society, Kate was engaged in variety of meaningful roles which include being a member of the Board of Directors, facilitating a support group for caregivers and becoming the first volunteer in the Minds in Motion® program when it was implemented in Vernon. Gordon started volunteering because he was inspired by Kate's altruism and proceeded to become an invaluable member of the Minds in Motion® program which he supported for more than 6 years.

Clyde and Lanny Slade’s leadership and long-term volunteer work inspired many. Lanny served as the Society’s President and was a strong advocate for dementia programs and improved access to adult day centres for people living with dementia. Clyde founded, co-chaired and encouraged the development of the Alzheimer Society of B.C.'s research program. He worked tirelessly to build partnerships with other B.C. community organizations and networks.

Landon Short
Recipient of the 2019 Youth Engagement Award

Landon started volunteering with the Society as an assistant in the Minds in Motion® program. He quickly developed close and meaningful connections with clients and became a natural team leader among volunteers. Landon has grown his position within the Society to include delivering orientation for new volunteers, providing direct support to event staff, and is frequently trusted to represent the Society at public functions. Landon has three years of experience supporting the IG Wealth Management Walk for Alzheimer's and continues to look for new ways to engage and support the Society.

For more information about volunteering with the Society, please visit the Volunteer page.

Last Updated: 03/13/2020