Acknowledgments for the National Dementia Guidelines

Thank you to the many people with lived experience and professional expertise who developed and tested the tools and materials related to the National Dementia Guidelines on disclosing a diagnosis.

A group of people sitting at a table

We would like to thank the many individuals with lived and/or professional experience of the dementia diagnostic process who shared their valuable time and insights throughout the development of these national dementia guidelines for the disclosure and communication of a dementia diagnosis.

These guidelines were developed by the Research & Knowledge Translation & Exchange (KTE) team of the Alzheimer Society of Canada (ASC), under the overall supervision and guidance of Dr. Saskia Sivananthan, Dr. Vivian Ewa, Dr. Sid Feldman, and Dr. Zahinoor Ismail.

These guidelines were written by Sarah Main, PhD, Jhnelle McLaren-Beato, and Alixe Ménard with substantial input from Research & KTE team colleagues Ngozi Iroanyah, Natasha Jacobs, and Sian Lockwood.

A special thank you to the staff members of the Alzheimer Society of Canada who contributed to and supported this project every step of the way.

We acknowledge and are beyond appreciative of the contributions of the following people and organizations in supporting the development of these guidelines.

Steering Committee

Dr. Zahinoor Ismail (Chair), Dr. Saskia Sivananthan, Dr. Sid Feldman, Mario Gregorio, Claire Webster, and Dr. Allan Grill.

Evidence Synthesis and Review Team

Dr. Isabelle Vedel, Dr. Eric E. Smith, Navi Sandhu, Dr. Maureen Dobbins, Emily Clark, Leah Hagerman, and Douglas M. Salzwedel.

Topic Guideline Creation Panel

Dr. Vivian Ewa (Chair), Dr. Saskia Sivananthan, Dr. Josée Guimond, Dr. Zahinoor Ismail, Wendy Tang, Dr. Lauri McCoy, Phyllis Fehr, Heather Sosa, Dr. Orrisha Denbow-Burke, Sian Lockwood, Dr. Vivian Welch, Karen Wong, Dr. Charmaine Ma (Physician Liaison), Dr. Agnes Iwegbu (Physician Liaison), Dr. Allan Grill, André Girouard, and Joseph Salvo (Physician Liaison Support).

Chinese Community Working Group

Pearl Leung (Facilitator), Dr. Charmaine Ma (Physician Liaison), Cynthia Wong, Mona Mah, and Wen Jean Ho.

Black Community Working Group

Tashani Parker (Facilitator), Dr. Agnes Iwegbu (Physician Liaison), Granville Johnson, Marva Smart, and Jennifer Oteng.

Expert Advisory Group

Dr. Dallas Seitz, Dr. Linda Lee, Dr. Roger Wong, Dr. Serge Gauthier, Dr. Frank Molnar, Dr. Lauren Albrecht, Dr. Kristina Swain, Dr. Yinka Akin-Deko, Dr. Ikenna Ezeamah, Dr. Sherry Dupuis, Julie Sigouin, and Dr. Larry Chambers.

Collaborating Organizations

The Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care and the Health Association of African Canadians (HAAC).


We would like to thank our partners who made this project possible: the Canadian Consensus Conference on Diagnosis and Treatment of Dementia and the College of Family Physicians of Canada.



This initiative has been made possible through a financial contribution from the Public Health Agency of Canada. The views expressed herein do not necessarily represent the views of the Public Health Agency of Canada.


phac logo