Our Research Committees

We are grateful to those who volunteer their time and expertise on the following Alzheimer Society Research Program Committees:

ASRP Peer Review Panel

The Alzheimer Society Research Program (ASRP) relies on a system of peer review to identify the most promising research projects and ensure we make the best use of our research funding. Applications are evaluated on scientific merit and relevance to Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias by one of two peer review panels (i.e., biomedical or quality of life).

ASRP 2018 Peer Review Panel members


Chair: Simon Duchesne, PhD, Université Laval
Scientific Officer: Georges Lévesque, PhD, Université Laval
Panel members:

  • Edith Hamel, PhD, McGill University
  • Joel Watts, PhD, University of Toronto 
  • Lili-Naz Hazrati, PhD, MD, FRCPC, University of Toronto
  • Andréa LeBlanc, PhD, McGill University
  • Chantelle Sephton, PhD, Université Laval
  • Hsiao-Huei Chen, PhD, University of Ottawa
  • Tak Pan Wong, PhD, McGill University
  • Fernanda De Felice, PhD, Queen's University
  • Hideto Takahashi, MD, PhD, Université de Montréal
  • Alexey Kostikov, PhD, Montreal Neurological Institute
  • Jannic Boehm, PhD, Université de Montréal
  • Abid Oueslati, PhD, Université Laval
  • Étienne Hébert-Chatelain, PhD, University of Moncton
  • Claudine Gauthier, PhD, Concordia University
  • April Khademi, PhD, Ryerson University
  • Kevin Whittingstall, PhD, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Darrell Mousseau, PhD, University of Saskatchewan

Quality of Life

Chair: Kathy McGilton, RN, PhD, University of Toronto
Scientific Officer: Lynn Clearly, University of Brock
Panel members:

  • Sharon Kaasalainen, RN, PhD, McMaster University
  • Jennifer Baumbusch, RN, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • Christine Jonas-Simpson, RN, PhD, York University
  • Carol Hudon, PhD, Université Laval
  • Tamara Sussman, PhD, McGill University
  • Debra Sheets, RN, PhD, University of Victoria
  • Vanessa Taler, PhD, University of Ottawa
  • Nancy Presse, Dt. P., PhD, Institut universitaire de gériatrie de Montréal

Research Policy Committee

The Research Policy Committee provides advisory oversight to the research efforts of the Alzheimer Society Research Program (ASRP) and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors as it relates to policy, strategy, priority setting, program effectiveness and funding.

Community Representatives

Community Representatives are members of the general public who are not currently involved with research. They comment on the intent, purpose and on the clarity of the language used within the lay summaries of the research applications. Their involvement in peer review serves as a mechanism for public accountability by providing feedback on the ASRP peer review process.

  • Jim Mann, British Columbia, Biomedical
  • Roger Marple, Alberta, Quality of Life

Last Updated: 06/26/2018