Sara's Story

I once heard Alzheimer’s being referred to as “the memory thief”. And a thief it certainly is – an unwanted and unexpected visitor with a limitless appetite who keeps coming back for more. I saw it when it chose my father as its victim and slowly striped away his memory at first, and later some parts of his personality.

My father in his years before he met Alzheimer’s was the person everyone wanted to be around. He was just magnetic; everyone gravitated towards him without effort. He loved spending time in the kitchen, both cooking and eating, and hummed and tapped his feet whenever the radio played. One of my most prominent childhood memories involve the family sitting around the television during the Christmas season watching the Sound of Music while my dad whistled along with every song.

His years during Alzheimer’s have changed this. He’s more quiet and reserved, albeit still as charming as ever. His culinary interests have become non-existent, and even his fondness for the taste of fine cuisine has started to descend down a similar path. But one thing has remained consistent and largely unchanged – music. He still lights up at the sound of music, whistles down the halls and sways his body from side to side to the melody. When it comes to music he’s 16 going on 17.

Our recognition of this led him to join a senior’s harmonica group. He had taught himself to play in his teenage years and has maintained the skill despite his diagnosis. This allows him to be both socially and mentally active, as well as connected him with a group of warm and welcoming people who shared his love of music. Together they spread their passion beyond their own circle and are often invited to play at various long-term care centers and cultural organizational events, including the most recent one where he performed his very first solo. 

When I was young, my father gave me the perhaps very cliché advice of “Do what you love and you will do it well. When you do what you love well, life will be meaningful”. He’s far from a Carnegie Hall performer, but I believe these performances make him feel like one.  He’s doing what he loves and life has become meaningful again. These performances give him a sense of independence, ability, and self-esteem in a time when these qualities may become increasingly difficult to find. As such, it is my greatest hope that this is a part of life the memory thief allows us to keep.

When my father was formally diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease at the age of 60, after 4 years of living with mild cognitive impairment, his doctor told us not to despair; this didn’t mean it was the end of the world. Many people are still able to live well despite the diagnosis. Truth be told, if Alzheimer’s was a tangible object I would lock it up and bury it at the end of the world where it would live out the rest of its days in misery and isolation. But this wasn’t the reality, nor was it realistic. I couldn’t slow it down, or stop it in its tracks, or make it go away.

 

I once thought of Alzheimer’s as a losing battle – a strenuous uphill climb, only this one didn’t end with

 conquest when you reached the top. A great number more people suffer from horrible diseases like cancer; the only difference is more and more people are beating cancer. No one has ever conquered Alzheimer’s. This is not to say diseases like cancer are any less significant or cause less grief and destruction, but the fact remains there is no cure for Alzheimer’s. Treatment is palliative (it merely works to minimize its symptoms, not cure it) and its effects are modest at best. Still, I eventually learned I was wrong. In this uphill battle I’ve won many victories, and still refuse to let Alzheimer’s have the upper hand.

Victories come in many forms. It happens on days when he enthusiastically wants to participate in his day activities without the need for encouragement. Or when he actively socializes with his friends, reverting back to the charismatic and charming fellow who sometimes now hides in the shadows. Or when he surprises us by recalling a detail no one expected him remember. I declare my own triumph on days where I can sense my patience wearing thin, and am able to take a breath to collect myself again. I even take days without his having an emotional outburst as my own conquest.

It may still be an uphill battle and yes, the road is long and winding, but there’s no reason we shouldn’t be allowed to stake our own victory flags along the way.

Story Submitted by Sara


Last Updated: 11/08/2017

L'histoire de Sara

J'ai déjà entendu quelqu'un comparer la maladie d'Alzheimer à une « voleuse de souvenirs ». Cette visiteuse inattendue et indésirable est en effet une vraie voleuse. Elle a un appétit vorace et elle revient toujours pour en avoir plus. Je l'ai constaté lorsque mon père en a été la victime. Elle lui a tout d'abord lentement dérobé la mémoire et ensuite une partie de sa personnalité.

Tout le monde voulait être avec mon père avant sa maladie. Il avait une personnalité magnétique et possédait un charisme irrésistible. Il adorait passer du temps dans la cuisine pour concocter de bons repas. Il fredonnait et tapait du pied lorsque la radio jouait. Je me souviens encore de cette belle soirée de mon enfance, pendant le temps des fêtes, où nous sommes tous assis devant la télé pour regarder la Mélodie du bonheur. Comme il fallait s'y attendre, mon père accompagnait chaque chanson en sifflant.

La maladie a tout changé. Il est devenu plus silencieux et plus réservé, mais toujours aussi charmant. Son savoir-faire culinaire et sa prédilection pour la fine cuisine ont lentement disparu. Par contre, son amour de la musique est resté intact. Il siffle et marche dans les corridors en suivant le rythme de ses mélodies préférées. Pour ce qui est de la musique, il a vraiment conservé son âme d'ado.

Il a enfin rejoint un groupe d'harmonicistes du troisième âge. Il a appris à jouer de l'harmonica alors qu'il était adolescent et, malgré la maladie, il n'a jamais oublié. Cela lui permet de rester actif socialement et mentalement, et d'établir des liens avec des personnes chaleureuses et accueillantes qui partagent son amour pour la musique. Le groupe a transmis sa passion aux autres résidents et donne souvent des spectacles dans d'autres centres de soins de longue durée ou salles communautaires. Récemment, mon père a même joué pour la première fois en solo!

Quand j'étais jeune, il m'a dit une chose qui ressemble un peu à un cliché, mais qui contient beaucoup de vérité : « Fais les choses que tu aimes et tu les feras bien. Quand on fait ce qu'on aime, la vie prend tout son sens. » Mon père n'a rien d'un musicien de Carnegie Hall, mais la musique prend une place tout aussi importante dans sa vie. Il adore ce qu'il fait et son existence a de nouveau repris tout son sens. Les spectacles qu'il donne lui confèrent le sens de l'indépendance, de la réussite et de l'estime de soi à un moment de sa vie où il en a beaucoup besoin. Mon plus grand espoir, c'est que la voleuse de souvenirs ne lui dérobe pas sa passion.

Mon père était déjà affecté d'un trouble cognitif léger depuis quatre ans lorsque la maladie d'Alzheimer lui a été diagnostiquée à l'âge de 60 ans, mais le médecin nous a dit de ne pas désespérer. Malgré le fait qu'il n'existe pour le moment aucun traitement pour guérir la maladie d'Alzheimer, plusieurs personnes atteintes mènent malgré tout une vie pleinement satisfaisante. Mais je dois dire que, si la maladie d'Alzheimer était une chose tangible, je l'enfermerais et je l'enterrerais à l'autre bout du monde, où elle croupirait dans la souffrance et l'abandon. Mais cela n'a rien à voir avec la réalité. Je ne peux la ralentir, je ne peux y mettre fin, je ne peux la faire disparaître.

 

J'ai souvent pensé que la maladie d'Alzheimer était une bataille perdue. Beaucoup plus de personnes souffrent d'autres maladies horribles, comme le cancer. La seule différence, c'est qu'on réussit de plus en plus à guérir le cancer. Personne n'a encore vaincu l'Alzheimer. Cela ne signifie pas que les maladies comme le cancer causent moins de peine et de destruction, mais le fait est qu'on ne peut guérir la maladie d'Alzheimer. Les traitements s'attaquent simplement aux symptômes et leurs effets sont très limités. Ceci étant dit, j'ai quand même remporté de nombreuses victoires au cours de cette dure bataille, et je refuse de laisser la maladie prendre le dessus.

Lorsque mon père participe à ses activités avec enthousiasme, sans avoir besoin d'encouragement, ou encore, lorsque je le vois socialiser avec ses amis et qu'il nous offre un petit aperçu de celui qu'il a déjà été, je considère qu'il s'agit d'une belle victoire. Je crie également victoire lorsqu'il nous parle d'une chose que nous aurions cru disparue de sa mémoire, ou lorsqu'à certains jours je sens que ma patience atteint ses limites, mais que j'arrive finalement à me ressaisir en prenant un moment de répit.

La maladie d'Alzheimer est une bataille difficile à livrer, la route est longue et sinueuse. Malgré tout, rien ne nous empêche, à l'occasion, d'agiter nos propres drapeaux vainqueurs tout au long du parcours.

Histoire soumise par Sara


Last Updated: 11/08/2017