About us


The Alzheimer Society of Cornwall & District proudly serves the five eastern counties (Stormont, Dundas, Glengarry, Prescott and Russell), the City of Cornwall, as well as the Akwesasne community. We offer all our programs and services in both French and English, in-person, virtually, and over the telephone. Drop-in visits are welcomed during office hours.

General Logo

Our organization

The Alzheimer Society of Cornwall and District was established in 1985 as a self-help group.

We serve the counties of Stormont, Dundas, Glengarry, Prescott, Russell and Akwesasne. We are proud to provide our services in both official languages.

Our VisionA world without dementia.

Our MissionAlleviate the personal and social consequences of Alzheimer Disease and related dementia through family support, education, advocacy and support to research.

Our structure

Our programs


For the person living with dementia, the changes caused by the disease can be challenging.  These changes can also be difficult for families and friends.  The Alzheimer Society provides help for today and hope for tomorrow the form of support programs.  To access any of these, please call the office at (613) 932-4914 or toll free at 1 (888) 222-1445.


Our First Link and Family Support team can help individuals and families understand dementia, the symptoms and work with them to find strategies to live well.  This type of support is offered in-person, over the telephone and/or virtually.

Peer Support Groups

Lead by an experienced facilitator, groups of individuals living with dementia and/or caregivers connect in a group setting.  Usually held monthly, participants support and learn from each other.  These are done virtually and when possible, in person.

Connecting to the Right Services

Navigating the healthcare system and community support services can be challenging.  It is important to find the right supports for the person with dementia and their care partners. 

Your Family Support Team knows the community very well and can help you navigate and find the services that are right for you.

There is a website called Caredove that can connect clients directly with care.  This resource lets you see what services are available to you.  In addition, you can choose and book the ones that work for you directly.

Engagement/Recreational Programs

Opportunities to connect with others as well as to engage in activities are an important part of life.  The Society provides opportunities with programs such as Minds in Motion for both the person who lives with dementia and their caregiver to connect with others in a social environment as well as activity kits (supplies are limited) for use in the home.  Contact us to learn more about dates, eligibility and availability.


Learning more about dementia and the changes it brings can make a big difference in daily life.  The Society provides several ways for you to learn more about this disease:


Our Family Support team helps individuals and their families learn about dementia, including the type of dementia, symptoms and strategies for daily life. Understanding the disease is the first step in developing strategies to keep the person with dementia engaged and living well.

Educational sessions

The Society provides in-person and virtual learning opportunities for those living with dementia, their caregiver, their families and friends to help them understand the disease and strategies to live well.

Topics include:

  • What is dementia?
  • How to communicate
  • Understanding responsive behaviour
  • Adapting activities of daily living to abilities

We also provide sessions for the general public on dementia and brain health.  In addition, we offer sessions to health care providers to help them provide better dementia care.

Our Dementia Friendly training helps groups and businesses understand the everyday experiences of people living with dementia, so they can better accommodate their needs and help them live well in the community.


This website provides all kinds of information to help you learn more.  About Dementia is a good place to start.

Adult Day Program

Connecting with others, engaging in activities and providing caregivers with a break from caregiving are a few of the goals of an adult day program.

Serving the United Counties of Prescott-Russell, the Alzheimer Society hosts an Adult Day Program for eligible individuals – Monday to Friday from 9:30am to 2:30pm.  There is a fee of $19 per day to participate.

Privacy and confidentiality

For more information on our privacy policies, please consult the documents below.

COVID-19 Safety Plan

For more information on our COVID-19 safety plan, please consult the document below.