We can help

Print

Respite and Cognitive Stimulation

The Alzheimer Society Suroît offers the following free respite and cognitive stimulation services:

In Home Respite

This service is offered in either French or English for caregivers of people with Alzheimer’s disease or loss of autonomy due to age. Stimulation is provided by trained companions to the person with Alzheimer’s disease, enabling the caregiver to benefit from a few hours of respite. It is offered in partnership with the CSSS du Suroît and the CSSS du Roussillon.

Respite Centres

This service is offered to caregivers of people with Alzheimer’s disease or related disorders. This bilingual service has trained animators who provide cognitive stimulation and activities for the person with Alzheimer’s disease thus allowing respite for the caregiver. The service is offered 9:30am – 3:30pm:

  • During the week at our Vaudreuil-Dorion centre.
  • During the week at our Valleyfield centre.
  • On Saturdays at the Centre Trèfle d’Or in Châteauguay.

Cognitive Stimulation and Support/Memory Workshops

These workshops are for people in the early stages of Alzheimer’s disease. They help break the isolation, offer support to the person with Alzheimer’s disease, allow the sharing and exchanging of experiences, stimulate and valorize the person with Alzheimer’s disease.

The bilingual groups are small, 4-8 participants, and are offered at our centre in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield on Friday afternoons. Activities include information, discussions, memory activities, art activities, games, music therapy, etc.


Last Updated: 03/29/16
Back to top

Répit et stimulation cognitive

La Société Alzheimer du Suroît offre les services de répit et de stimulation cognitive suivants:

Service De Répit à Domicile

Ce programme est offert en français et en anglais pour les aidants de personnes atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou en perte d’autonomie liée au vieillissement. La stimulation de la personne atteinte est offerte par des accompagnatrices formées, ce qui permet un répit pour l’aidant. Le programme est offert en partenariat avec le CSSS du Suroît et le CSSS du Roussillon.

Halte-répit

Ce service bilingue est offert aux aidants de personnes atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou une maladie appararentée. Ce service de stimulation cognitive et d’activités est offert par des animatrices formées, aux personnes atteintes de la maladie d'Alzheimer, permettant ainsi aux aidants de profiter d’un répit. Il est offert de 9H30 à 15H30:

  • Sur semaine, à notre centre à Vaudreuil-Dorion.
  • Sur semaine, à notre centre à Valleyfield.
  • Le samedi, au centre Trèfle d’Or à Châteauguay.

Ateliers de soutien et de stimulation cognitive

Ces ateliers sont pour les personnes atteintes de la Maladie d'Alzheimer à un stade léger. L’objectif est d’aider à briser l’isolement, d’offrir du soutien à la personne atteinte, de partager et d’échanger des expériences, de stimuler et valoriser la personne atteinte.

Ces groupes bilingues sont petits, de 4 à 8 participants et sont offerts à notre centre à Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, le vendredi après-midi. Les activités offertes incluent information, discussions, activités de mémoire, les activités artisanales, jeux, musique-thérapie, etc..


Last Updated: 11/08/2017