world alzheimer's month every 3 seconds

World Alzheimer’s Month 2018

 

September 2018 will mark the seventh World Alzheimer’s Month campaign, an international campaign to raise dementia awareness and challenge stigma.

The primary objective of World Alzheimer’s Month is to reach out to as many countries as possible, showing the global impact of dementia and promoting dementia awareness and what we can do to help support those living with the disease.

Every 3 seconds someone in the world develops dementia

The theme for this year’s World Alzheimer’s Month campaign is Every 3 seconds. We’re encouraging people all around the world to understand the importance of recognising dementia as a disease and challenging the stigma that surrounds the condition.

By focusing on this statistic, we are emphasising the huge global impact of dementia world-wide. This ‘back to basics’ approach concentrates on awareness-raising, with a simple, easy to understand and impactful message, which is broad and adaptable to every country.

Alzheimer associations, groups and individuals around the world are encouraged to use this theme to focus their messages and campaigns on advocacy and public awareness with a packed month of activities including information provision, Memory Walks, fundraising events and media appearances.

Statistics

Someone in the world develops dementia every three seconds.

There are over 50 million people living with dementia in 2018, and this is expected to increase to 152 million by 2050 if effective risk-reduction strategies are not implemented worldwide

Most people with dementia live in low and middle-income countries and the number in some regions is expected to increase by five times by 2050. The number of people living with dementia is expected to double in high income countries.

Dementia is now a $US trillion-dollar disease, and already exceeds the market value the world’s largest companies including Apple and Microsoft.

Risk reduction and diagnosis

Diagnosis of dementia is made too late. Earlier diagnosis is important to ensure that people living with dementia and their care partners can live as well as possible for longer, and access the support they need.

As few as one in ten individuals receive a diagnosis for dementia in low- and middle-income countries, and less than one in two individuals are diagnosed in high-income countries. More people living with dementia need access to a doctor who can provide a diagnosis and help to plan necessary support.

Risk reduction measures and earlier diagnosis of dementia could save governments money, by reducing the high cost of emergency and avoidable health interventions, improving care, and by increasing the effectiveness of social, community, and other care services.

Governments have an opportunity and a responsibility to dramatically increase awareness, detection and diagnosis of dementia, by meeting targets of the World Health Organization (WHO) global plan on dementia.

Earlier diagnosis has the power to change the perception of dementia, by illustrating that living as well as possible can be achieved with support, respect and access to services

Individuals diagnosed with dementia earlier have a unique opportunity to take part in dementia research, which may identify new treatments, help to find a cure or improve care.


Last Updated: 09/18/2018

worldalzheimermonth3secs_fr.jpg

Mois Mondial d’Alzheimer 2018

 

Septembre 2018 sera le septième Mois Mondial d’Alzheimer, une campagne internationale visant à sensibiliser les populations à la démence et à lutter contre la stigmatisation.

L'objectif principal du Mois Mondial d'Alzheimer est de faire participer le plus de pays possible, en démontrant l'impact mondial de la démence et en promouvant la sensibilisation à la démence et ce que nous pouvons faire pour aider ceux qui vivent avec la maladie.

Toutes les trois secondes, quelqu'un dans le monde développe une démence.

Le thème de la campagne cette année est Toutes les 3 secondes. Nous encourageons tout le monde à comprendre l’importance de reconnaître la démence comme une maladie et de lutter contre la stigmatisation.

En mettant l'accent sur cette statistique, nous soulignons limpact énorme de la démence au niveau mondial. Cette approche « retour aux sources » se focalise sur la sensibilisation, un message simple, facile à comprendre, percutant, de portée globale et qui peut être adapté à tous les pays du monde.

Les associations Alzheimer, groupes et individus du monde entier sont encouragés à utiliser ce thème pour centrer leurs messages et leurs campagnes, avec un mois chargé d'activités comprenant des séances d’information, des marches de la Mémoire, des événements de collecte de fonds et des interventions dans les médias.

Statistiques

Toutes les trois secondes, quelqu'un dans le monde développe une démence.

En 2018, il y a plus de 50 millions de personnes atteintes de démence et ce chiffre devrait atteindre 152 millions d’ici 2050, si des stratégies de réduction des risques ne sont pas mises en place à travers le monde.

La plupart des personnes atteintes de démence vivent dans les pays à revenu faible ou moyen, ce chiffre devrait être multiplié par 5 d’ici 2050. Le nombre de personnes atteintes de démence devrait doubler dans les pays à revenu élevé.

Le coût global de la démence en fera une maladie de billions de $USD en 2018, et dépasse déjà la valeur marchande des plus grandes entreprises du monde, y compris Apple et Microsoft.

Réduction des risques et diagnostic

Le diagnostic de démence est fait trop tardivement. Etablir un diagnostic plus précoce est important pour assurer que les personnes atteintes de démence et leurs aidants puissent avoir une bonne qualité de vie et être soutenus convenablement.

Moins d'une personne sur dix reçoit un diagnostic de démence dans les pays à faible et moyen revenu, et moins d'une personne sur deux est diagnostiquée dans les pays à revenu élevé. Plus de personnes vivant avec la démence doivent avoir accès à un médecin qui peut établir un diagnostic et aider à planifier le soutien nécessaire.

Les mesures de réduction de risques et un diagnostic précoce de démence pourraient permettre aux gouvernements de faire des économies sur le long terme, en diminuant le nombre d’interventions d'urgence coûteuses, en améliorant les soins et en augmentant l'efficacité des services sociaux, communautaires et autres soins.

Les gouvernements ont la possibilité et la responsabilité d'accroître considéra-blement la sensibilisation, le dépistage et le diagnostic de la démence en atteignant les objectifs fixés par le Plan d’Action Mondial contre la Démence de l'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé (OMS).

Le diagnostic précoce permet de changer la perception de la démence en illustrant que l’on peut bien vivre avec la démence si soutien, respect et accès aux services sont facilités.

Les personnes qui sont diagnostiquées tôt ont la possibilité de participer à la recherche sur la démence ce qui peut permettre d’identifier de nouveaux traitements, aider à trouver un remède ou améliorer les soins.


Last Updated: 09/18/2018